Board of Trustees – 2020

James R. Marhold – Chairperson

Noah Freiberg – Vice Chairperson

Jim Mulroy – Treasurer

Melissa Scofield – Secretary


Adriana Chizan, LPC, Director of Support Services, Collaborative Support Programs of New Jersey (CSPNJ).

Noah Freiberg Senior Developer, Pennrose, LLC.

Gia Gore Director of Real Estate, Eden Autism Services.

Brian Kulas Community Advocate.

James R. Marhold D.BA, President/CEO, Declarations, Inc.

Randi Moore Division Chief, Hudson County Division of Housing and Community Development (HCD).

Jim Mulroy Partner, WithumSmith+Brown, PC (Withum).

Asish Patel, Chief Operating Officer, Monarch Housing Associates

Jacqueline Ross Community Advocate.

Stephen Schoch, Managing Principal, Kitchen & Associates (K&A).

Melissa Scofield Executive Vice President and Chief Risk Officer (CRO), Valley.

Tom Toronto President, Bergen County’s United Way.

Timothy J. Doherty (Board Emeritus) Executive Director, Project Freedom.

In accordance with our by-laws the SHA trustees are elected each year by the membership at the Annual Meeting. The trustees elect the SHA officers at the trustees meeting following the Annual Meeting. The full list of trustees Bios can be viewed.


Diane Riley, Executive Director

Diane joined SHA as Executive Director in 2017 bringing her many years of experience as a leading voice for the economically disadvantaged in New Jersey. Joining the Community Food Bank in 2011, Diane led a coalition of stakeholders to raise awareness about hunger, engage in public dialogue, and influence policies that address underlying causes such as housing. In March 2016, Diane was recognized by the NJ General Assembly for her service leadership and commitment to improve the quality of life for citizens throughout the state of New Jersey. Prior to the joining the food bank, Diane worked at The Apostles House, a non-profit agency providing emergency shelter, transitional housing and other services to homeless and at-risk families in the Newark area. Diane is currently a member of the board of trustees of the Anti-Poverty Network of NJ (APN). As an ordained deacon in the Episcopal Diocese of Newark, the Rev. Diane Riley serves as Archdeacon for Mission and Service a resource to congregations and other faith communities.

Joseph Christensen, Membership Engagement

Joseph builds connections toward collaborative community success as part of New Jersey’s supportive housing community. Joining SHA-NJ in 2018, Joseph’s experience assisting the non-profit world includes work with housing, food accessibility, workers’ rights, access to the arts, and supportive services. Committed to the mission of SHA-NJ, Joseph brought updates to the weekly newsletter, “The SHAre:” and seeks additional opportunities to grow and support the SHA member community. Joseph earned a Master’s Degree in Public and Organizational Relations from Montclair State University.